top of page
  • Writer's pictureJana Belle Rojas

Practice Teaching


Grade 7C

Time Management and Organization Skills

My mentors commend my time management skills. Usually, I finish right on time and I am able to finish all of the activities in my lesson plan. I stick to my allotted time in my lesson plan so that all my activities will be accommodated and I make sure that I have extra minutes during my lesson planning so I will be able to have extra time when my students need it.


Organization-wise, I need to work on how I present my lesson whenever I write it on the board. I have to arrange my discussion from left to right and put the examples on one side for my students to better follow the flow of my lesson.



Problem-Solving

In terms of problem solving, I have not encountered large problems in my class. The biggest challenge that I have encountered is the language barrier between my students and I. I am able to solve this by learning some words that are used in my lesson and translating them into Indonesian. However, those are not the only things I did. I use gestures, exaggerated actions, examples, visuals and audio in order for me to be understood by my students. Communication is not a big problem because of the technology that we can use such as translators and audio-visual materials.


Classroom Management

For classroom management, noise and rowdiness is not a problem. The noise that the students produce is always related to the lesson. The challenge I had was sustaining class participation. It was difficult because in the first place, the students lack motivation in learning English. This is why I resort to doing group works or games instead of individual work so that it will be more fun for them. I also try to use examples that they can relate with so that they will be able to see how English is applied in daily context and the importance of the English language. Giving out praises, reinforcement and encouragement also helped them participate more in class.




13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page