top of page
  • Writer's pictureJana Belle Rojas

Journal 15: January 27, 2019

Can I Take a Photo?”


On this day, we were invited to an event in MTS Muhammadiyah Purwokerto. The event was very big as the Elementary school students, about 400 or more of them, were present at school. On this day there was a try-out, dancing, playing traditional instruments, raffle draws and promoting the school. It was a good avenue for the elementary school students to be aware of the school, the programs that they offer and the facilities present. We were asked to go at 10 am, and the program was almost over. During this day, my co-student teacher and I felt like some sort of celebrity since there were many students, teachers, and parents even who asked for photos. Instead of watching the dance, participating in the program or enjoying the presentation, there were those who asked us for photos.




Despite that, I personally enjoyed the presentation. The dancer who performed the traditional dance was very graceful. How she danced to the beat of the music really portrayed the intention of the dance. Another thing that I enjoyed very much was the singing and playing of traditional instruments. I especially enjoyed seeing the Angklung being played by one student. It was played precisely and the beat it produced was very unique. I always enjoy the Angklung because back home, our teacher introduced that instrument to us. Back then, we got a chance to paly the instrument but we did it differently. Now, as I watched how it was played, I realized the amount of precision and practice it took to perfect playing the instrument.





Today Margie and I were introduced to those who attended the event. We introduced ourselves onstage and the answers to our questions were used in a raffle contest. It was very fun seeing the kids answer simple questions and try their best to say it in English. Though it was a Sunday, I still enjoyed seeing their beautiful culture and I was very happy that I got to know more the faculty in MTS Muhammadiyah Purwokerto.





Terima Kasih banyak!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page