top of page
  • Writer's pictureJana Belle Rojas

Journal 16: January 28, 2019


Good and Very Good”


It was another Monday but it was not like the typical Monday that we had. Today there was actually something to look forward to and that was lunch with our coordinator, Ibu Lutfi and our mentor, Pak Sae. But before that, I had to prepare for class. Today, I have decided to teach class 7B, a class in which I was hesitant to teach at first because during the observation week, they were very noisy. However, today they surprised me very much.


From my motivation activity to my evaluation, everyone participated well in class. There were little to no pauses because the students who were noisy were the ones who participated well. They especially became active during the group game and in giving examples during the discussion. In my opinion, this was the best class session that I have handled so far. From my days in teaching here in MTS Muhammadiyah Purwokerto, I realized how much these kids enjoy the topic when there are kinesthetic activities involved. They still love playing games and being given opportunities to participate, unlike teaching older students. With this information, I will shift my strategy and design activities that enable students to actively participate in class activities.


After class, Ibu Lutfi picked us up to have lunch at Mang Engking. It was a beautiful restaurant with lots of good food. We had fun talking with our coordinators and mentors before being evaluated by them. This was an opportunity for me to get to know my evaluator, Pak Sae. He is a very fun-loving and food-loving guy. He told us many jokes and talked to us about his time in the Philippines. He was very easy-going and his nature made me less nervous about the evaluation. After the wonderful lunch, Ibu Lutfi and Ibu Neny took us to Batik Solo where we bought Batiks to bring home to the Philippines. We were told that we would not have classes the next day because we will have an excursion with UMP International Affairs Office. Tonight our buddies visited us and brought food to enjoy. From this day I realized that the more active the students, the more they will find the lesson meaningful, which is my goal in teaching English- for my students to find meaning and motivation in learning the beautiful language.




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page