top of page
  • Writer's pictureJana Belle Rojas

Journal 17: January 29, 2019

“Milk Farm”




Today we had a free day. It was something that we, international students looked forward to because today, we get to spend time with our buddies and other international students of UMP. It was on this day that we met and got to know our friends from Malaysia, Hungary and Sudan. It was also another time spent with our buddies from Indonesia and Bessie and Anita from Taiwan. Overall, this day was very eventful and we got to see another side of Purwokerto.



First we visited BBTUHPT Baturaden, which was a farm that focuses on the quality of cows. They do not focus on milk production but it is on the cow quality itself. We got to be oriented on how they raise the cows, what they feed it, the environment they put it in and many more. We had a chance to feed the cows that were there in the farm. Sadly, we couldn’t milk it since they have a specific time to do so. It was a new experience for me since I live in the city back home and there were not much farms found. During this time we had lots of fun talking and really getting to know all the international students of UMP who went with us. The Malaysians were easy to talk to and we got to catch up with Bessie and Anita and our buddies. It was a very entertaining day.




After this, we went to have lunch by a waterfall. Curug Bayab was a magnificent sight to see. Usually, I would never go anywhere near bodies of water that I am not confident in because I do not know how to swim. However, it is a once in a lifetime experience so I went near the edge and sat down with my friends. It was very relaxing. Our conversations are never ending and it ranges from what we usually do back home up to what our plans are the next day. The feeling of being welcomed by these wonderful people with unique stories to share made me think of how wonderful it is if we all got along. If we just listen and communicate with one another instead of thinking about superiority.



It was a day full of wonderful experiences and with this I know that when I go back home, I will have my stories to share, as well. I will not miss all the paper works but what I will miss most in the world from this teaching-learning experience are the people that made my stay in Indonesia wonderful. My coordinators, my mentors, my buddies, my friends from other countries, my students and my fellow-exchange teachers will forever have a place in my heart.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page