top of page
  • Writer's pictureJana Belle Rojas

Journal 19: January 31, 2019

Please Prepare”


Today was a little uneventful day for me. I did not handle any class because I did not handle any classes. I prepared all my lesson plans and instructional materials already but my mentor also prepared his. Because this is an extra subject and because this lesson was already discussed, he said I could use this time to prepare for my observation and evaluation. So it is what I am doing right now.


So for today, I was just sat in the teacher’s room, editing my journal and writing my lesson plans to prepare myself for the observation and evaluation. My mentor told me to bring the lesson plan the next day so we can edit and revise, if needed. I think it is very generous of them to offer help since it is not a requirement for them to hands-on edit our lesson plans.


I think what I am concerned for the most is the evaluation because it is the last, most crucial and final step before finishing this program. I am beyond grateful for this experience because I might never get to have another one of these in a long time. Preparing for my evaluation made me realize how much preparation goes into things like these. I tell myself that this experience is not about the marks that you get after you’re evaluated but it is about how much you’ve grown as an educator and how impactful each teaching-learning experience is for you.


For my observation I decided to teach Singular/Plural nouns and for the evaluation, I have decided to teach Descriptive text. With these I want the lessons to be very interactive and effective for the students. I want to apply constructive approach however, with their level of English; maybe I won’t apply it all through out the teaching-learning process. I researched about how to make my lessons interactive. I hope our language barrier will not hinder us from having fun in our class.


Another thing that I have experienced today is to witness an Indonesian Wedding Reception. The teachers from MTS Muhammadiyah Purwokerto invited us to join them to their friend’s wedding. It was very different from ours since ours is more western in nature compared to theirs. We shared that in the Philippines, we pin the money that we give to the clothes of the bride and groom. It surprised them because theirs was different. We had fun, even though we felt out of place during the ceremony because people were staring at us. We got a picture with the bride and groom and then we proceeded to head back to the mess.


This beautiful ceremony of love reminded me of how universal that emotion really is. No matter what religion, nation or culture you have, as long as you know how to love then the world will be a better place. It is not difficult to do so, and I hope that someday my students will always remember that showing love to one another will help create a better society in this world.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page