top of page
  • Writer's pictureJana Belle Rojas

Journal 21: February 2, 2019

Updated: Mar 14, 2019


"Observation Day"


Today is the day. Today is the day of judgment. I'm just being dramatic but yes, today is the day where my evaluator, Pak Sae, visits my class and observes it. However, before the nerve-wrecking experience, we join the junior high for a walk. They do this walk monthly as a way to promote good health. They walk to the field that they hold their Physical Education classes and then back to school. The entire faculty joins this walk, which made it very fun. They were wearing their Physical Education uniform and we were wearing jeans and sneaker, which we have to change later on so for the observation.




During the walk we got to bond with the students and the faculty. They would talk to us and make jokes with us. It made me realize how I am going to miss them very much when I leave Indonesia. After the walk, it was time for the observation.






During the observation, I discussed Singular and Plural Nouns to Grade 7C. They were participative during the observation however, I noticed that they were not as noisy as before. Maybe the fact that there was an observer made them conscious to make their educational noise. It was good that they still participated but the energy in the room was not as dynamic as those days when there was no observer. Because of this, I tried to make up for it by doubling my energy in discussing, which worked because they became energetic. During the group game, that when I saw that there were still some aspects of the lesson that they found difficult. So I gave another recap before letting them answer the test. During the individual assessment, I always roam around and one by one assist them, which my mentor commended me for it. After the lesson, they were able to reflect that it is important because using this you can tell a person if it is many or only one.




After this Margie and I had lunch with Pak Sae. He is a very nice person. He did not talk about our observation because he wanted to visit us in the dorm the next day to tell us personally about it. We also ate with a SEA Teacher batch 6 member who is also our buddy, Dina. She is a working student under Pak Sae. She will accompany us to his class for us to talk about the Philippine curriculum. When his class started, the students started asking questions about the curriculum and how come we graduate at this age and how come we can speak English this fluent. Margie and I tried our best to answer all their question and I hope they learned from it.





As we go back to the dormitory, we immediately prepared to go to SMP Muhammadiyah 1 to prepare watch Larissa and Jessie sing, at the same time witness Wayang Kulit. When we got to their school, an unexpected thing happened. Margie and I had to do back up singing for Larissa because she unable to reach the tune. But I think it still did not work because our microphone's volume was low so it was still her voice and Jessie's that carried out the song. We are some of the few Filipinos not gifted enough to sing. Then we watched a puppet show, Wayang Kulit. It was very interesting however, because we could not understand anything, it became confusing for us at some parts. But even though we did not understand, it was still very entertaining and beautiful to watch.


Overall, this day had so many events but I am still anxious for the critiques that we will receive tomorrow from Pak Sae.


Wearing Filipiniana and Batik

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page