top of page
  • Writer's pictureJana Belle Rojas

Journal 23: February 4, 2019


"Final Judgement"


Today I woke up feeling extra nervous. Today is evaluation day and I do not know if I had enough sleep the night before just thinking about the evaluation. As I entered MTS Muhammadiyah Purwokerto, I immediately felt the chills of nervousness. It did not help that Pak Sae arrived very early for the evaluation and I went first.


I started the class with a very enthusiastic greeting but deep down I was shaking. The class was 7B and they were very participative during the discussion. They enjoyed it when I use their classmates as examples and compare each other. My activity for the exploration was not a group game but it was drawing their seat mates and writing descriptions about them. They were very creative and the boys in particular enjoyed drawing. After that, I asked each of them to come up in front and show their drawing. They read aloud their descriptions of their classmates and had fun seeing each of their drawings.



After the session, Pak Sae left to observe Margie. When my students asked me whether I willl teach them on Wednesday, it hit me that I was leaving this week and this is my last class session. So the entire time they were talking to me asking me to write them farewell messages and asking me about the Philippines. I did not leave the class until Margie finished her session in the other classroom. We took one last group picture as a class before I left to get my results from Pak Sae.


Grade 7B

My evaluator, Pak Sae

We went to a cafe near the school to get our evaluation. It was very casual. He let us assess ourselves first before giving his comments. The way he gives it is very direct to the point but constructive. He even had another buddy and fellow SEA Teacher batch 6, Nina, join us and give her criticisms as well. It was very insightful and enjoyable. We talked about other things also like Nina's SEA Teacher experience as well as our experiences so far.


After this, we went back to the school and went around the classes without any teachers to say goodbye to the students since it was our last teaching session. We were very sad when we said it because these students have become our friends already. We took some pictures with them and they added us on social media so they can still contact us. We made a deal that if they contact us they have to speak in English so they can practice at the same time we will reply in Bahasa so we can learn their language beyond simple greetings.


After our goodbyes, we went to the faculty room and Ibu Neny and Ibu Hera decided to take us to Chapin Park. We had so much fun, as shown by the pictures. Overall, it was a day that I enjoyed but I know that I will miss all these when I go back to the Philippines.


The Village


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page